World Glaucoma Week – 12-18th March 2017

جيل جديد من خيارات علاج الجلوكوما يرسم ملامح مستقبل علاج المرضى في الشرق الأوسط

20 مارس 2017 (دبي، الإمارات العربية المتحدة): يطلق على الجلوكوما اسم سارق البصر المتسللبسبب عدم ظهور أعراض له، كما أن فقدان البصر بمجرد حدوثه يكون دائماً. وقد يفقد الشخص حتى 40% من قدرته على الرؤية دون أن يلاحظ. وتشير تقديرات منظمة الصحة العالمية إلى أن مرض الجلوكوما أو المياه الزرقاء في العين يصيب نحو 60 مليون شخص حول العالم. ويعتبر مرض الجلوكوما ثاني أبرز أسباب الإصابة بالعمى وفقدان البصر عالمياً، كما أنه المسبب الرئيسي لمشاكل فقدان البصر غير القابلة للتصحيح. ومع ذلك فإن بالإمكان علاج المرض وتجنب الإصابة بالعمى عن طريق التشخيص المبكر. وبحسب أحد الخبراء من مستشفى مورفيلدز دبي للعيون، فقد تم تطوير جيل جديد من خيارات العلاج لمكافحة مرض الجلوكوما، والتي ستتوفر قريبًا للمرضى في منطقة الشرق الأوسط.

ويمثل مرض الجلوكوما مجموعة من أمراض العين التي تسبب تلفاً متزايداً في الأعصاب البصرية. يشار إلى أن جميع الإجراءات الجراحية لعلاج الجلوكوما مصممة بحيث تقلل إنتاج السائل داخل العين (السائل الزجاجي أو aqueous humor) أو زيادة تدفقه (تصريفه). وتهدف جراحات الجلوكوما وعلاجات الحالة الأخرى حالياً إلى تقليل الضغط داخل العين وإبقائه مستقراً، وعند تحقيق ذلك يصبح بالإمكان تجنب تلف بنية العين وبشكل خاص العصب البصري. 

ويوضح د. محمد صهيب مصطفى، استشاري طب العيون وجراحة الجلوكوما وإعتام عدسة العين وتصحيح البصر في مستشفى مورفيلدز دبي للعيون، والاستشاري الفخري في مستشفى مورفيلدز لندن: “في حال ترك المرض دون علاج فإن معظم أنواع الجلوكوما تؤدي إلى تزايد التلف البصري وبالتالي الإصابة بالعمى. ليس هناك علاج بسيط لمرض الجلوكوما حتى الآن، إلا أن من الممكن علاجه كما يمكن الوقاية من فقدان البصر عن طريق التشخيص المبكر وتقبل العلاج. ومن الممكن أن يساعد العلاج بواسطة قطرات العين أو الجراحة (التقليدية أو جراحة الليزر) في وقف تقدم المرض أو إبطائه مما يمنع فقدان نسبة أكبر من قدرة الإبصار. وحاليًا هناك جيل جديد من خيارات العلاج التي تعد بتغيير تجربة المريض وإتاحة مزيد من الخيارات بين ما هو متوفر حاليًا من قطرات العيون أو الجراحة التدخلية“.

على مدى الخمسين عامًا الماضية، كان علاج حالات الجلوكوما بزاوية مفتوحة قائمًا على قطرات العيون، مع اللجوء إلى الجراحة التقليدية في الحالات المتقدمة او المتفاقمة للمرض. ومؤخرًا أصبح هناك مزيد من الاهتمام بجراحة الجلوكوما وخاصة الجراحة غير التدخلية أو (MIGS) – والتي أثبتت تحقيقها لنتائج ممتازة في الحالات الخفيفة إلى المتوسطة من الجلوكوما.

صممت الجراحة الدقيقة (MIGS) بحيث ترفع مستوى السلامة أثناء الجراحة لمرضى الجلوكوما وتوفر بديلًا عن العلاج الطبي لتحسين جودة حياة المريض وحل المشاكل المرتبطة بأدوية قطرات العيون، كما تعتبر خيارًا بديلًا عن الجراحة التقليدية التدخلية.

كما يعتبر العلاج بالليزر حلًا مجديًا في حالات الجلوكوما الخفيفة إلى المتوسطة. العلاج بالليزر للتصريف من زاوية العين أو (الترقيع بالليزر الانتقائي -SLT) هو خيار علاجي غير تدخلي يتم تنفيذه في العيادات الخارجية ويهدف لتقليل عبء استخدام قطرات العيون على المريض وكذلك لتحسين التحكم بضغط العين وتقليل تفاقم حالة الجلوكوما. ليس هناك آثار جانبية طويلة الأمد لهذا العلاج، كما أن المريض يتعافى من الإجراء العلاجي خلال أيام قليلة.

وحتى عند اللجوء لخيار الجراحة التقليدية التدخلية كعلاج للجلوكوما، فقد تم إحراز تقدم في عدة جوانب. حيث يستخدم لاصق الفبرين كمادة لإغلاق الشقوق الجراحية وتقليل النزيف دون الحاجة للغرز خلال العلاج الجراحي المعقد للجلوكوما، كما أنه يقلل الوقت اللازم للجراحة ويجعلها أقل إزعاجاً للمرضى، ويقلل من مضاعفات ما بعد الجراحة. ويتم حقن اللاصق بواسطة المحقن الطبي العادي خلال عملية زراعة أنابيب التصريف في عين مريض الجلوكوما، كما يحقن اللاصق أيضاً لتثبيت الرقع الجراحية في العين مما يعني عدم الحاجة للغرز الجراحية والتي عادة ما يصعب التنبؤ بمضاعفاتها كما تكون مزعجة للمريض. 

ويضيف د. محمد صهيب مصطفى ، والذي تلقى تدريبه في المملكة المتحدة على إجراء تقنية MIGS الجديدة: “تركز تقنية الجراحة الدقيقة بشكل أساسي على السلامة، لأنها تتضمن الحد الأدنى من التدخل الجراحي مما يتيح استخدامها لعلاج حالات الجلوكوما غير الانكسارية، وكذلك كإجراء مبكر في مرحلة العلاج. الأطباء والمرضى على السواء كانوا في انتظار أنواع جديدة من علاجات الجلوكوما التي تلبي الفجوة القائمة حاليًا في خيارات العلاج. قد تساعد الجراحة الدقيقة في سد هذه الفجوة، ولا شك في ان الجيل الأول من أجهزة الجراحة الدقيقة سيمهد الطريق لتطوير خيارات أكثر أمانًا وفعالية. منظمات الجلوكوما حول العالم تسعى لتحقيق هدف (10، 10، 10) بحلول عام 2020، وهذا يعني أننا نسعى لتطوير إجراء علاجي يمكن تنفيذه خلال 10 دقائق، ويحقق ضغط عين بمقدار 10 ملم زئبق، وتستمر فعاليته لمدة 10 سنوات. وفي هذا الإطار تعتبر الجراحة الدقيقة إجابة لهذا الهدف، لكن لعلها ليست الإجابة الكاملة بعد“.

شارك هذه الصفحة:

داخل أخبار / إعلام

متّصلة…

شراكتنا مع مدينة دبي الطبية
نحن في مستشفى مورفيلدز دبي للعيون أكثر من سعداء بمشاركتنا الم...
اقرأ المزيد
عراقتنا
خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية بدأ المستشفى في استقبال الحالات ا...
اقرأ المزيد
إطلب موعد

X
إطلب موعد

World Glaucoma Week – 12-18th March 2017

New generation of Glaucoma procedures set to shape the future of patient treatment in the Middle East

20 March 2017 (Dubai – United Arab Emirates): Glaucoma is called ‘the sneak thief of sight’ because there are no symptoms and once vision is lost, it is permanent. As much as 40 per cent of the field of vision can be lost without a person noticing. The World Health Organisation estimates that Glaucoma affects around 60 million people globally. Glaucoma is the second leading cause of blindness worldwide and the number one cause of irreversible blindness. However, the disease is treatable and blindness can be prevented through early diagnosis. According to an expert from Moorfields Eye Hospital Dubai, there is now a new generation of treatment options to combat glaucoma and these will soon be available to patients in the Middle East.

Glaucoma is a group of eye diseases that cause progressive damage of the optic nerve. All glaucoma surgery procedures are designed to decrease the production of intraocular fluid (aqueous humor) or increase the outflow (drainage) of this fluid. Currently the goal of glaucoma surgery and other glaucoma treatment is to reduce or stabilize intraocular pressure (IOP) and when this is accomplished, damage to ocular structures – especially the optic nerve – may be prevented. 

Dr. Mohammed Sohaib Mustafa, Consultant Ophthalmologist; Glaucoma, Cataract and Refractive Surgeon at Moorfields Eye Hospital Dubai; and an Honorary Consultant at Moorfields London, explains: “If left untreated, most types of glaucoma result in increasing visual damage and may lead to blindness. There is no simple cure for glaucoma yet, however it can be treated and blindness can be prevented through early diagnosis and acceptance of treatment. Treatment with eye drops or surgery (conventional or laser) can halt or slow-down the disease and prevent further vision loss. Today, we are starting to see a new generation of treatment options that promise to change the patient experience and offer new treatment options between eye drops for life and more invasive surgery.”

For the last 50 years, the treatment for open-angle glaucoma has been based on eye drops, with traditional surgery reserved for more advanced and worsening disease. Recently, there has been increased interest in glaucoma surgery – specifically Minimally Invasive Glaucoma Surgery (MIGS) – which has been shown to deliver excellent results in mild to moderate glaucoma cases.

MIGS or micro surgery is designed to improve the safety of surgery for glaucoma patients and offer an alternative to medical therapy in order to improve the quality-of-life issues with eye drop medications, and as an option to more aggressive traditional surgical options.

Laser treatment is a very viable option in mild to moderate glaucoma. Selective Laser Trabeculoplasty (SLT), a non-invasive eye drainage angle laser treatment, performed in the outpatient clinic with the aim of reducing the eye drop medication burden for patients and also to improve eye pressure control, to reduce progression of glaucoma. There are no long term side effects and patients recover in a few days.

Even at the more invasive surgery end of the treatment spectrum, there are advances being made. Fibrin glue is now used as a sealant to close the wounds and minimise bleeding without stitches during the complex surgical treatment of glaucoma whilst also saving time and making the procedure more comfortable for patients, and reducing post operative complications. The glue is applied by normal medical syringes during the implantation of drainage tubes into the eye of a glaucoma patient, and also for the patching of grafts onto the eye, removing the need for traditional sutures, which can be unpredictable and uncomfortable.

Dr. Mohammed Sohaib Mustafa, who has trained in the UK in this new MIGS technology, adds: “Ultimately, MIGS is all about safety because it is minimally invasive, permitting its use in nonrefractory glaucoma and also much earlier in the treatment process. Physicians and patients have been waiting for a new class of glaucoma interventions to address the gap in therapy. MIGS may help to fill that gap and the first-generation MIGS devices will certainly pave the way for even safer and effective options. The worldwide Glaucoma fraternity goal is 10,10,10 by 2020. We need a procedure that can be done in 10 minutes, give a target pressure of 10mmHg and last for 10 years. MIGS is an answer but perhaps not the complete answer, yet.”

Share this page:

Posted in Press Releases

Related…

Our Partnership with DHCC
Moorfields Eye Hospital Dubai chose to be located in Dubai Healthcare City (DHCC). The hospital shares the same g...
Read More
Moorfields Eye Hospital Dubai Vision, Mission & Values
Vision Moorfields Eye Hospital Dubai aims to be the finest Eye Hospital in the Middle East by treating every pati...
Read More
Our 200 Years Heritage
At the beginning of the 19th century, ophthalmology was an unknown science. That all changed in the early 1800s a...
Read More
Request an appointment

X
Request Appointment