ما هو الورم الأرومي الشبكي

Retinoblastoma

مدونة هذا الأسبوع حول الورم الأرومي الشبكي بمساهة الدكتور نمير كافل حسين، استشاري طب عيون الأطفال، اختصاصي أمراض عيون الأطفال وجراحة تصحيح الحول والكتاراكت لدى الأطفال.

الورم الأرومي الشبكي هو سرطان يصيب العين ويحدث بشكل شائع عند الأطفال دون سنّ الخامسة. ويتم تشخيص ثلثي الحالات عند الأطفال قبل سنّ الثانية وحوالي 95 ٪ منها قبل سنّ الخامسة.

وتشير التقديرات إلى أن ما يتراوح بين 5000 و8000 طفل يصابون بالورم الأرومي الشبكي حول العالم كل عام. ويبلغ معدّل الإصابة بهذا السرطان في الولايات المتحدة وأوروبا حوالي 1 من أصل كل 15000 ولادة لمولود حيّ. ولكن يبدو هذا المعدّل أعلى في أفريقيا والهند.

يتمثل هذا السرطان في نمطين، النمط ثنائي الجانب (وراثي ويشكّل 25 ٪ من كافة الحالات) والنمط أحادي الجانب (يشكّل 75 ٪ من كافة الحالات، والتي يكون 90 ٪ منها غير وراثي).

ويعدّ أكثر الأعراض شيوعاً هو ابيضاض الحدقة والذي يعتبر مظهراً غير طبيعي لانعكاس اللون الأبيض في العين (60٪ من الحالات)، كما يحدث الحوَل (انحراف في وضع العين) في 20٪ من الحالات.

ويعتمد الأسلوب الأفضل لعلاج هذه الحالة على الكشف والتشخيص المبكريْن.

ينطوي العلاج على الأطباء المتخصّصين بعيون الأطفال وأورام العيون وأورام الأطفال. ويهدف العلاج في المقام الأول إلى الحفاظ على حياة الطفل، ثم إلى الحفاظ على الرؤية بالدرجة الثانية، وإلى الحفاظ على العين أخيراً. ويعدّ هذا السرطان ذا قابلية عالية جداً للشفاء إذا تم اكتشافه في المراحل المبكرة، حيث يتمكّن أكثر من 90 ٪ من الأطفال في البلدان ذات الدخل المرتفع وما يصل إلى 40 ٪ منهم في البلدان الأفقر من البقاء على قيد الحياة. وتتضمّن المعالجة العلاج الإشعاعي والعلاج الكيميائي وأحياناً استئصال العين المصابة بالورم. ويكون الأطفال الذين يعانون من المرض ثنائي الجانب ومن وجود طفرة في الجينات معرّضين بشكل أكبر لخطر الإصابة بالسرطانات الثانوية، ويزداد هذا الاحتمال مع العلاج الإشعاعي.

من المهم جداً بالنسبة للوالدين وأطباء الأطفال وأطباء العيون وغيرهم من المتخصّصين المشاركين بالرعاية الصحية للأطفال اكتشاف الانعكاسات غير الطبيعية للون الأبيض (عدم وجود ضوء منعكس بلون أحمر) أثناء الفحوصات الروتينية للأطفال.

يمكن رؤية ابيضاض الحدقة في العين المصابة بالورم بسبب انعكاس الضوء الوامض بلون أبيض من شبكية العين البيضاء غير الطبيعية في الجزء الخلفي من العين.

في كاميرات الهواتف الحديثة، هناك ميزة للتقليل من مظهر العين الحمراء بحيث لا يظهر اللون الأحمر في الصور. وهناك عدد من تطبيقات الآيفون المصمّمة للكشف عن المنعكسات ذات اللون الأبيض، إلا أن هذه التطبيقات لها حدودها الخاصة.

ويعدّ الفحص الدقيق للعين من قِبل طبيب عيون الأطفال ضرورياً للكشف عن الورم في مراحله المبكرة بواسطة هذه التطبيقات أو صور الآيفون عندما يراود الآباء والأمهات بعض المخاوف.

شارك هذه الصفحة:

داخل مدونة
إطلب موعد

X
إطلب موعد

What is Retinoblastoma?

Retinoblastoma

This week’s blog on ‘Retinoblastoma’ has been contributed by Dr. Namir Kafil-Hussain, Consultant Paediatric Ophthalmologist, Specialist in Children’s Eye Diseases, Strabismus (Squint) and Paediatric Cataract Surgery

Retinoblastoma is an eye cancer that occurs most commonly in childhood under the age of 5. . Two thirds of children are diagnosed before the age of two and almost 95% by the age of 5.

It is estimated that 5000-8000 children develop retinoblastoma worldwide every year. The incidence rate of retinoblastoma in United States and Europe is approximately 1:15000 live births. However, the rate appears to be higher in Africa and India.

Its present in two forms, bilateral (hereditary) form (25% of all cases) and unilateral (75% of all cases, 90% of which are non-hereditary).

The most common presentation is leucocoria which is an abnormal white reflection in the eye (60%) and 20% as squint, the misaligned position of the eye).

The best approach to manage this condition is based on early detection and early diagnosis.

It involves Paediatric Ophthalmologist, Ophthalmic Oncologist and Paediatric Oncologist. The aim of the treatment is primarily to preserve the life of the child. Secondly, to preserve vision and finally, to preserve the eye. It is highly curable if identified in early stages; more than 90% of children survive in high income countries and up to 40% in less privileged countries. Treatment includes radiotherapy, chemotherapy and sometimes enucleation of the eye with tumor. Children with bilateral disease and gene mutation are at higher risk for secondary cancers. This increases with radiation therapy.

It is very important to for parents, Pediatricians, Ophthalmologists and other healthcare professional involved in childcare to detect abnormal white reflection (absence of red reflex) during routine checkups of the children.

Leucocoria can be seen in the eye with the tumor due to the reflection of the white flash light from abnormal white retina in the back of the eye.

In the modern phone cameras, a red eye reduction feature is included so that the red reflex is prevented in the photos. There are few iPhone applications (apps) which are designed to detect the white reflex. However, there are certain limitations with these apps.

A thorough eye examination by a Paediatric Ophthalmologist is essential to detect the tumor in its early stages when concerns arise by parents with these apps or iPhone photos.

Share this page:

Posted in Blog
Request an appointment

X
Request Appointment