ماذا تتوقع من زيارة طفلك

قطرات توسيع حدقة العين

عند الحضور إلى المستشفى قد يلزم توسيع حدقة عيني طفلك. ونقوم بهذا الإجراء لسببين: أولاً: تؤدي القطرات إلى إيقاف حركة عضلات داخل العين المسؤولة عن تركيز البصر، وذلك حتى نتمكن من إجراء فحص انعكاسي على العين لمعرفة فيما إذا كانت هناك أي حاجة لاستخدام النظارات. ثانياً: توسع القطرات حدقة العين كي نتمكن من النظر وفحص صحة العين من الداخل

ولأجل هذا الهدف يلزم وضع بعض من القطرات في عيني الطفل حتى تتوسع حدقة العين أكثر (الفتحة السوداء في العين). وهذا الإجراء لايؤذي الطفل بتاتاً لكنه قد يسبب شعوراً بوخز بسيط أثناء جريان القطرات على العين. ويتميز طاقمنا المختص بخبرة جيدة في وضع قطرات العين وسيحرص على تقليل أي شعور من عدم الراحة أو القلق الذي قد ينتج عن ذلك. وتستغرق القطرات بين 30-45 دقيقة حتى تأخذ مفعولها وتصبح حدقة العين واسعة. أما بالنسبة لأعين الأطفال الغامقة فقد يلزم وضع المزيد من القطرات والتي يمكن أن تستغرق حتى 60 دقيقة.

ويزول مفعول القطرات بعد عدة ساعات، وعادة ما يدوم توسع الحدقة إلى اليوم التالي. وقد يشعر الطفل برؤية مشوشة وحساسية أشد نحو الضوء أثناء توسع حدقة العين، ولذلك ننصح بإحضار نظارات شمسية أو قبعة في يوم الموعد

موعد الزيارة

خلال زيارتكم لنا تجرى معاينة طفلكم على يد عدد من الخبراء ومنهم أخصائي تقويم البصر الذي يختص في مشاكل حركة العين والاضطرابات التي تؤثر على كيفية عمل العينين معاً. وتشخص هذه الحالات عادة في مرحلة الطفولة، لذلك يتميز أخصائيو تقويم البصر بمؤهلات فريدة وخبرة في تقييم حالات الأطفال. وفي دول مثل الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية أو المملكة المتحدة عادة ما يتولى أخصائي تقويم البصر، والذي يعمل عن قرب مع طبيب أمراض العيون، دوراً رئيسياً في تقييم ومعالجة اضرابات العين في مراحل الطفولة.

وقد يجري أخصائي تقويم البصر خلال الفحص عدة اختبارات لتقييم حالة طفلكم. وقد تستغرق هذه الاختبارات والفحوصات وقتاً إضافياً، وعليه يتوقع إمضاء عدة ساعات في المستشفى. وننصح باتباع التالي عند الحضور في يوم الموعد:

  • التأكد من إحضار نظارات الطفل إن كان يلبسها
  • تقديم أي تقارير طبية ذات صلة.
  • أي أدوية يتناولها الطفل حالياً.
  • إحضار نظارات شمسية أو قبعة (حيث تصبح العين حساسة للضوء إن لزم توسيع حدقة عين الطفل)

إطلب موعد

X
إطلب موعد

What to expect from your child’s visit

Appointment day

During your visit your child will be seen by a number of experts including an Orthoptist. An Orthoptist is an allied health professional who specialises in eye movement problems and disorders that affect how the eyes work together. These conditions are typically diagnosed in childhood; therefore Orthoptists are uniquely qualified and experienced with assessing children. In countries such as the US or UK the Orthoptist, working hand in hand with an Ophthalmologist, commonly plays a central role in the evaluation and treatment of childhood eye disorders.

During the exam the Orthoptist may perform a range of tests to assess your child’s condition. These tests and examinations can be lengthy, and you should expect to spend several hours at the hospital.

Dilating drops

When you come to the hospital, it will probably be necessary to dilate your child’s eyes. We do this for two reasons: First, the drops will temporarily paralyse the muscles in the eyes that do the focusing, allowing us to perform a refraction to see if there is any need for glasses. Secondly, the drops will enlarge the pupils and allow us to see inside and examine the health of the interior of the eye.

In order to do this we will need to put some eye drops into their eyes, which will make the pupil (black part of the eye) bigger. This does not hurt your child but may sting a bit while the drops are going in. The staff is very experienced in putting in eye drops and care will be taken to minimise any discomfort or anxiety this may cause. It may take anywhere between 30-45 minutes for the drops to work and the eyes to become dilated (get bigger). For children with dark eyes it may be necessary to put more drops in and can take up to 60 minutes.

It may take several hours for the effects of the drops to wear off and occasionally the dilation may last until the following day. While the eyes are dilated your child may experience blurry vision and increased sensitivity to light. We therefore recommend bringing sunglasses or a hat on the day of the appointment.

Refraction

This test measures whether your child is longsighted, shortsighted, or has astigmatism. Your child’s eyes will need to be dilated using the eye drops as described above. In order to complete the test, the optometrist, orthoptist, or ophthalmologist will use different types of lenses which are held up close to the eyes and will then shine a little light in each eye. They will then be able to tell you what strength of glasses your child needs to wear.

Once your child is old enough, a refraction test will be able to be performed without using the eye drops – this is called a subjective refraction.

Click here to read more about our Orthoptists

Appointment day

Please bring:

  • Your child’s glasses, if they wear them.
  • Any relevant medical reports.
  • Any medication your child is currently taking.
  • Sunglasses or a hat (if dilated your child’s eyes will be sensitive
    to light).
Request an appointment

X
Request Appointment