الأجسام الطافية وومضات الضوء

flashes and floaters

مدونة هذا الأسبوع حول الأجسام الطافية وومضات الضوء من د. عمّار صفر، المدير الطبي، استشاري طب العيون، أخصائي جراحة الشبكية و الجسم الزجاجي.

يصف البعض رؤية أجسام صغيرة ذات أشكال وأحجام متفاوتة تطفو بين حين لآخر أمام أعينهم. تسمى هذه الأجسام بالأجسام الطافية أو العائمة (floaters) لأنها تبدو كما لو كانت تطفو في الهواء حيثما وجهت نظرك. الواقع أنها عبارة عن ألياف صغيرة في جسم العين الزجاجي، وهو المادة الشبيهة بالهلام التي تملأ العين أمام الشبكية. ومن الشائع جدًا رؤية هذه الأجسام الطافية من وقت لآخر، كما أنها غالبًا ما تظهر لدى الأشخاص الذين يعانون من قصر النظر.

وتكون رؤية الأجسام الطافية عادةً عند النظر إلى خلفية مضيئة، مثل شاشة كمبيوتر أو سماء زرقاء أو إلى البحر. وعادةً لا يزداد عدد الأجسام الطافية مع الوقت، وإن حصل ذلك فإن هذا الأمر يحصل بتدرج بطيء جدًا على مدار سنوات عديدة. والعلاج الفعّال الوحيد لهذه الحالة هو إزالة الجسم الزجاجي للعين بواسطة الجراحة. إلا أن الأمر نادرًا ما يتطلب هذا الإجراء حيث أن الأجسام الطافية حميدة ونادرًا ما تسبب أي تراجع جوهري في قدرة الإبصار. كل ما في الأمر أنها ظاهرة مزعجة ليس إلا.

ولا يوجد علاج كقطرات العيون أو الأدوية للتخلص من الأجسام الطافية. في حال زيادة عدد الأجسام الطافية بشكل مفاجئ (5-10 أجسام جديدة أو أكثر)، أو في حال ظهور ومضات من الضوء مرافقة للأجسام الطافية، فإن من الضروري استشارة طبيب العيون لفحص الشبكية والتحقق من عدم وجود ثقوب أو تمزقات فيها.

شارك هذه الصفحة:

داخل مدونة
إطلب موعد

X
إطلب موعد

Floaters and Flashes

flashes and floaters

This week’s blog on Floaters and Flashes has been contributed by Dr Ammar Safar, Medical Director, Consultant Ophthalmologist and Vitreoretinal Surgeon.

Some people describe seeing little objects of different shapes and sizes occasionally floating in front of them. We call these objects ‘Floaters’ because they seem to float in front of you wherever you look. In fact, these are small fibres located in the vitreous, the jelly-like substance which fills the eye, in front of the retina. It is very common to see these floaters from time to time and they are more likely to be found in near-sighted individuals.

The floaters are usually seen only when looking at a light background such as a white computer screen or blue sky or sea. Typically, the floaters do not increase with time and if they do, it is usually a very slow progression over many years. The only effective treatment is removing the vitreous, through surgery. However, the procedure is rarely performed as floaters are very benign and rarely cause any significant vision loss. They are more annoying than anything else.

There is no other treatment such as drops or medication that will get rid of them. If there is a sudden increase in the number of floaters (5-10 or more new ones appearing) or if there are flashes of light associated with them, then a visit to your ophthalmologist is necessary to check your retina and ensure there are no holes or tears in it.

Share this page:

Posted in Blog
Request an appointment

X
Request Appointment