مستشفى مورفيلدز دبي للعيون تطلق مبادرات توعوية تهدف لتصحيح الأخطاء الشائعة عن مرض عمى الألوان

15 سبتمبر 2019، دبي: يُطلق مرض عمى الألوان على من يعاني بصوعبة في القدرة على تحديد الألوان، وعجزهم عن رؤيتها بالشكل التي هي عليه في الحقيقة، إذ يعد مرض عمى الألوان واحد من أكثر الأمراض خطورة على العيون، والتي يمكن أن يكون لها تأثير كبير على حياة الشخص. يعتبر عمى الألوان حالة وراثية ناجمة عن اختلاف في كيفية استجابة واحدة أو أكثر من الخلايا الحساسة للضوء والتىي موجودة في شبكية العين لبعض الألوان الرئيسية.

كما يشكل عمى الألوان عائقاً أمام القيام بأبسط الأعمال اليومية الاعتيادية مثل: شراء الفواكه والخضروات، أو في التسوق وشراء الملابس أو عبور الشارع عند إشارة المرور.

يأمل الأطباء في مستشفى مورفيلدز دبي للعيون إلى رفع التوعية بمرض عمى الألوان وتقديم النصائح، وتبديد المفاهيم الخاطئة الشائعة.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أن عمى الألوان يؤثر على الرجال أكثر من النساء، ويلعب دوراً حاسماً في صعوبة حصول الشخص على فرص التسجيل في وظائف الشرطة أو الجيش.

يصف الدكتور أفيناش غورباكساني، استشاري طب العيون، أخصائي في التهاب القزحية، الشبكية الطبية وجراحة الساد في مستشفى مورفيلدز دبي للعيون مرض عمى الألوان على أنه انخفاض القدرة على التمييز بين الألوان.

وقال: ” إن الأفراد المصابون بعمى الألوان لا يرون كل شيء” بالأبيض والأسود “ولكنهم يرون الألوان بشكل مختلف عن الأفراد الغير مصابين”.

يعّد عمى الألوان الأحمر والأخضر والأزرق والأصفر هي أكثر أشكال الحالة شيوعًا بجانب حالة عمى الألوان الكلي، أما بالنسبة للأشخاص المنحدرين من أصل أوروبي شمالي، يصيب عمى الألوان الأحمر والأخضر ما يصل إلى 8 ٪ من الرجال و 0.5 ٪ من النساء.

وأضاف الدكتور أفيناش: “يمكن أن تختلف الأعراض من شخص لآخر:” فلن يعاني بعض الأشخاص من أعراض لأنهم تعلموا كيفية التمييز بين الألوان على الرغم من قصور رؤية الألوان لديهم.

ومع ذلك، قد يجد آخرون أنهم مصابون بعمى الألوان بعد اختبار بعض الوظائف مثل الدخول في الخدمة الوطنية العسكرية وما إلى ذلك، وقد يجد البعض صعوبة في رؤية الفرق بين الظلال أو الألوان.”

وأشار الدكتور أفيناش أنه يتم استخدام اختبار سريري بسيط باستخدام فحص “إيشيهارا” وهي عبارة عن لوحات دائرية ملوّنة على شكل صحون مهمتها اختبار حالة الأشخاص المصابين بعمى الألوان الأحمر والأخضر، لكن يوجد هناك اختبارات أكثر دقة وتفصيل مثل: اختبار تقييم اللون والتشخيص (CAD) أو اختبار 100 Hue.

ويمكن أن يكون سبب عمى الألوان وراثيًا، حيث يعاني الشخص منه طوال حياته، على الرغم من أنه يمكن أن يتطور أيضا وفقاً لحالة المرض.

وتابع الدكتور أفيناش حديثه قائلاً: “قد تكون أسباب عمى الألوان وراثية وموجودة منذ الولادة، والأكثر شيوعًا هو نقص رؤية اللون الأحمر والأخضر المرتبط بـ أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية. ومع ذلك، يمكن أن تحصل الإصابة بسبب مرض العصب البصري مثل التهاب العصب البصري أو التصلب المتعدد أو أمراض شبكية العين”.

وقال الدكتور أفيناش: “على الرغم من عدم وجود علاج معروف، يمكن أن تساعد العدسات اللاصقة والنظارات المزودة بفلترات الشخص المصاب بعمى الألوان على الرؤية بشكل أوضح. مع العلم بأن الشخص المصاب بعمى الألوان يفقد القدرة على تحديد الألوان الأساسية الثلاثة وهي: الأحمر والأزرق والأخضر. فيما عدا ذلك، فأن رؤية الشخص المصاب بعمى الألوان لا تختلف عن رؤية الشخص غير المصاب به”.

يمكن تقديم المشورة الطبية لبعض حالات عمى الألوان؛ لأن بعض الوظائف مثل قيادة الطائرات، القطارات وغيرها ليست مناسبة لهؤلاء الأفراد. كما يوجد عدد قليل من تطبيقات الهواتف الذكية التي تساعد على التمييز بين الألوان لأولئك الذين يجدون صعوبة في القيام بذلك.

تقدم مستشفى مورفيلدز دبي للعيون مجموعة كاملة من الاختبارات لتحديد نوع عمى الألوان الذي يعاني منه المريض من خلال فريق طبي من الخبراء المختصين والمتواجدين بشكل دائم لتقديم المشورة الطبية المناسبة بشأن أفضل طريقة للتأقلم مع عمى الألوان.

شارك هذه الصفحة:

داخل أخبار / إعلام

متّصلة…

شراكتنا مع مدينة دبي الطبية
نحن في مستشفى مورفيلدز دبي للعيون أكثر من سعداء بمشاركتنا الم...
اقرأ المزيد
عراقتنا
خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية بدأ المستشفى في استقبال الحالات ا...
اقرأ المزيد
إطلب موعد

X
إطلب موعد

DOCTORS AT MOORFIELDS EYE HOSPITAL AIM TO DISPELL MISCONCEPTIONS SURROUDING COLOUR BLINDNESS

15 September 2019, Dubai: Colour blindness is one of the most misunderstood and ignored eye conditions, which can have a huge impact on a person’s life.

From making even the simple act of choosing in-season fruits and vegetables, shopping for clothes or crossing the street at traffic light, colour blindness can be a dominant factor in how you experience the world around you.

With World Colour Blind Awareness Day falling on September 6th, doctors at Moorfields Eye Hospital Dubai hope to raise awareness of the condition in order to offer advice, dispel common misconceptions and remove any stigma.

Affecting men more than women, colour blindness can hinder a person’s chances of enrolling in the police or military, taking on jobs that involve driving and even impact their academic performance.

Dr. Avinash Gurbaxani, Consultant Ophthalmologist, specialist in Uveitis, Medical Retina and Cataract Surgery at Moorfields Eye Hospital Dubai, describes colour blindness as a reduced ability to distinguish between colours.

“Colour blind individuals do not see everything in ‘black and white’ but merely perceive colours differently from unaffected individuals,” he said.
Red-green and blue-yellow color blindness are the most common forms of the condition along with total color blindness. In people of northern European descent, red-green colour blindness affects up to 8% of men and 0.5% of women.

Symptoms can vary from person to person, said Dr. Avinash: “Some people will have no symptoms as they have learnt to distinguish colours in spite of their colour vision deficiencies (CVD).
“Others, however, may find they are colour blind after testing for jobs or entering recruitment into national service etc. Some may also find it difficult to see the difference between shades or colours.”

Simple clinical testing with Ishihara plates (coloured plates that test the extend of a person’s CVD) is used for red-green colour blindness, but more detailed tests like the colour assessment and diagnosis (CAD) or 100 Hue test can isolate the type of CVD,” said Dr. Avinash.

The cause of colour blindness can be genetic, with a person suffering throughout their life, although it can also develop as the result of disease.

“The causes of colour blindness may be genetic and present from birth, the most common is X linked red-green colour vision deficiency (CVD). However, it can be acquired due to a disease of the optic nerve such as optic neuritis or multiple sclerosis or diseases of the retina,” said Dr. Avinash.

Although there is no cure for the genetic causes of colour blindness and most individuals have relatively few symptoms, some treatments are available, said Dr. Avinash.

“Certain tinted contact or eyeglasses lenses may help depending of the type of CVD you have, although this may improve recognition of some colors, it can make other more difficult to distinguish. For acquired cases of colour blindness, prompt treatment of the underlying cause is advocated.

“Occupational counselling can be advised for cases of known CVD as certain jobs like pilots, train drivers etc are not suitable for these individuals. There are even a few smartphone apps that help distinguish colour for those who have difficulty doing so.”

Moorfields Eye Hospital Dubai can offer the full range of tests to determine the exact kind of colour blindness a patient is suffering from with expert staff on hand to advise on the best approach to manage colorblindness

Share this page:

Posted in Press Releases

Related…

Our Partnership with DHCC
Moorfields Eye Hospital Dubai chose to be located in Dubai Healthcare City (DHCC). The hospital shares the same g...
Read More
Moorfields Eye Hospital Dubai Vision, Mission & Values
Vision Moorfields Eye Hospital Dubai aims to be the finest Eye Hospital in the Middle East by treating every pati...
Read More
Our 200 Years Heritage
At the beginning of the 19th century, ophthalmology was an unknown science. That all changed in the early 1800s a...
Read More
Request an appointment

X
Request Appointment