العدسات اللاصقة التنكرية

مدونة هذا الأسبوع حول العدسات اللاصقة التنكرية تشاركها د. ساندرا فيورنتيني، أخصائية علاج أمراض العين الخارجية وجفاف العيون وحساسيات العين، مستشفى مورفيلدز دبي للعيون

عدسات عيون ملونة في يوم الهالوين؟

العدسات اللاصقة التجميلية هي أي نوع من العدسات اللاصقة التي تغير مظهر العينين، ومن ضمنها العدسات الملونة وعدسات الموضة، والعدسات التي تجعل العيون تشبه عيون مصاصي الدماء أو الحيوانات أو غيرها من الشخصيات.

كثيرًا ما تعلن مواقع إلكترونية عن بيع عدسات لاصقة ملونة كما لو كانت من مستحضرات التجميل أو إكسسوارات الموضة، وغالبًا ما تكون الفئة المستهدفة هي المراهقين والشباب.

وإليكم أسطورة نود تأكيد عدم صحتها: ليس هناك ما يدعى بمقاس عالمي للعدسات اللاصقة يناسب الجميع (وهذا يعني أنكم بحاجة إلى مراجعة أخصائي عيون لتحديد مقاس العدسات اللاصقة).

لماذا لا ينصح باستخدام العدسات اللاصقة التنكرية؟

لا يجب اعتبار العدسات اللاصقة نوعًا من الإكسسوارات الجاهزة، فهي أدوات طبية تستخدم لأحد أكثر أعضاء الجسم حيوية وحساسية، ولهذا فلا بد أن يتم وصفها من قبل أخصائي معتمد.

فالعدسات اللاصقة التي تباع لغايات الزينة والملابس التنكرية قد تسبب إصابات للعين نتيجة كشط سطح العين أو التسبب بالقرحات للجزء الشفاف الأمامي منها، وفي حال التهاب هذه القرحات فإن ذلك قد يؤدي في بعض الحالات إلى فقدان دائم لقدرة الإبصار.

كما أن قرحات سطح العين تسبب الندوب، وحتى في حال السيطرة على الالتهاب واستخدام المضاد الحيوي المناسب ونجاحه في وقف الالتهاب، فإن العين تعاني من ندبة ستؤثر على الشفافية اللازمة لتمكين الرؤية الواضحة. وفي حال كانت الندبة في الجزء المركزي للبصر، فقد يحتاج المريض إلى زراعة قرنية لكي يستعيد قدرة الإبصار.

وقد توصلت إحدى الدراسات إلى أن استخدام العدسات اللاصقة التنكرية يزيد إلى حد كبير من مخاطر الإصابة بالتهاب القرنية – وهو التهاب قد يؤثر على قدرة الإبصار ويسبب قرحات في العين – مقارنة باستخدام العدسات اللاصقة لغايات تصحيح البصر. كما أشارت الدراسة إلى أن 60% من الأشخاص الذين استخدموا عدسات لاصقة تنكرية وأصيبوا بالتهاب القرنية، يعانون من فقدان دائم جزئي لقدرة الإبصار.

كما أن المنتجات المبتكرة التي تطرح في الأسواق، مثل العدسات اللاصقة المستديرة، ليست معتمدة من قبل إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية FDA. وقد تتسبب العدسات المستديرة بضرر كبير خاصة، نظرًا لكون العدسة تغطي جزءًا أكبر من العين مقارنة بالعدسات اللاصقة الطبية، مما لا يتيح وصول الأكسجين اللازم إلى العين بسهولة.

وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، ونظرًا لكون التصاميم المطبوعة على العدسات اللاصقة التنكرية تجعلها أكثر سماكة وأقل نفاذية، فإن من الصعب جدًا أن يصل الأكسجين عبرها إلى العين.

إذا رغبتم في أن يتضمن زيكم التنكري في يوم الهالوين عيون قطة أو زومبي أو عيون تضيء في الظلام، أو في حال رغبتم باستخدام عدسات لاصقة لتغيير لون عيونكم ومظهركم، ننصح بأخذ وصفة العدسة اللاصقة من أخصائي عيون مؤهل. فمن الضروري أن يتم إعداد العدسة من قبل شخص مختص، وهذا يعني ضرورة الحصول على وصفة خاصة بمقاسات تناسب عيونكم (بعد إجراء فحص للعيون).

كما أن العدسات اللاصقة التي لا تلائم العين قد تؤدي إلى خدشها أو التسبب بتضخم الأوعية الدموية وامتدادها إلى القرنية. إن إهمال هذا الجزء الضروري من إجراءات الحصول على عدسات لاصقة، واللجوء إلى شراء عدسات لاصقة جاهزة قد يؤدي إلى مشاكل في العيون – منها مشاكل خطيرة طويلة الأمد.

ماذا يحصل خلال فحص العيون؟

سيقوم أخصائي العيون – طبيب العيون أو أخصائي فحص النظر – خلال فحص العيون بما يلي:

  • قياس وفحص عيونكم لتحديد قياس العدسات اللاصقة.
  • تقييم ما إذا كنتم مرشحين مناسبين لاستخدام العدسات اللاصقة. والأشخاص غير المرشحين لاستخدام العدسات اللاصقة هم الأشخاص الذين يعانون من الحساسيات أو الالتهابات، أو الذين قد يتعرضون بشكل مستمر إلى مسببات حساسية مثل الدخان أو الغبار، والأشخاص الذين لا يستطيعون لسبب ما العناية بالعدسات اللاصقة واستخدامها بالشكل الصحيح.
  • تقديم التوجيهات والنصائح لكم حول كيفية استخدام العدسات اللاصقة والعناية بها. ويعد هذا الجانب في غاية الأهمية لأن العدسات اللاصقة المتسخة أو التي لا يتم تعقيمها بالشكل الصحيح قد تسبب التهابات في العين.
  • توضيح الفترة التي يمكنكم فيها ارتداء العدسات اللاصقة. والقاعدة الأولى في هذا الشأن هي أهمية تجنب النوم دون إزالة العدسات اللاصقة.

إلا أن العدسات اللاصقة التنكرية ما زالت وللأسف تباع في الأسواق وعبر الإنترنت لمتسوقين لا يعون مقدار الضرر الذي قد تسببه هذه العدسات.

وتقول د. ساندرا فيورنتيني: “لا يدرك الكثيرون مخاطر استخدام هذا النوع من العدسات اللاصقة، وهذا هو السبب الرئيسي الذي يدفع الكثيرين إلى زيارة أطباء العيون سنويًا، حيث تظهر إصابتهم بتلف أو إصابة في القرنية نتيجة ارتداء هذه العدسات اللاصقة، وخاصة خلال فترة الهالوين. يفرض علي عملي كطبيبة للعيون أن أساهم في تثقيف المجتمع حول هذا الأمر بهدف التقليل قدر الإمكان من الآثار الجانبية الخطيرة التي قد تؤثر على قدرة الإبصار”.

شارك هذه الصفحة:

داخل مدونة
إطلب موعد

X
إطلب موعد

Costume Contact Lenses

This week’s blog on costume contact lenses has been contributed by Dr Sandra Fiorentini, External and Dry Eye Disease, Eye Allergies, Moorfields Eye Hospital Dubai

Coloured Contact Lenses for Halloween?

Cosmetic or decorative contact lenses are any type of contact lenses that change the appearance of your eyes. They include coloured contacts, fashion lenses and lenses that can make your eyes look like vampires, animals or other characters.
Websites often advertise coloured contacts as if they were cosmetics, fashion accessories or toys and their targets are often teens and young adults.

The myth: there is no such thing as a universal size contact lens that fits everyone (and you certainly do need to see an eye specialist for a fitting).

Why are costume contact lenses not a good option?

Contact lenses are not ready-to-wear fashion accessories, they are medical devices fitted to one of the most vital and fragile organs of the body and so of course it takes a medical professional to prescribe them.

This is because non-prescription costume contacts can cause injuries through abrasions and ulcers on the transparent front part of the eyes and if the ulcers get infected, in some cases this can lead to permanent vision loss.

Any ulcer leaves a scar and even good control of the infection with the right antibiotic treatment working successfully, there will still be a scar which will affect the transparency needed to be able to see. If the opacity is in the central part of the vision, the patient will require a corneal transplant to recover the vision.

One study found that wearing costume contact lenses significantly increased the risk of developing keratitis – a potentially sight threatening infection that causes an ulcer on the eye – compared to people wearing corrective lenses. Among those costume lens wearers who went on to develop the infection, 60 per cent had some permanent loss of vision.

Novelty products, like circle lenses, are not FDA (US Food & Drug Administration) approved. Circle lenses can be particularly harmful, because the lens covers more of the eye than regular corrective lenses, which makes it very difficult for essential oxygen to get through to the eye.

Moreover, because the designs painted on costume contacts make the lenses thicker and less permeable, it is even harder for oxygen to get through the lens to the eye.

If you want your Halloween look to include cat, zombie or glow-in-the-dark eyes, or if you’d like to use lenses to change your eye colour or appearance, get your costume contact lenses prescribed by an eye care professional. It is essential that contact lenses are fitted professionally and this means that a personalised prescription (after an eye examination) is crucial.

In addition, lenses that are not properly fitted to your eye may scratch the eye or cause blood vessels to grow into the cornea. Neglecting this vital part of the process and buying lenses off the shelf can lead to eye problems – including serious, long-term conditions.

What happens in an eye examination?

During an eye exam, eye care professionals – such as ophthalmologists or optometrists – will:

  • Measure your eyes in order to properly fit contacts.
  • Assess whether or not you are a good candidate for contacts. Unsuitable candidates include people with allergies and infections, or those who may be regularly exposed to environments with potential irritants such as smoke or dust, and people who are unable for some reason to manage their lenses properly through correct handling and care.
  • Guide you on how to use and care properly for lenses. This is very important because dirty lenses or those that are not properly disinfected can cause eye infections.
  • Help you understand how long you can wear costume lenses. The first rule is that you should never sleep in them.

Unfortunately, cosmetic contact lenses are still being sold in shops and via online retailers to customers who are unaware that wearing these devices can result in serious eye injuries.

“People have no idea about the risks and this is the main reason we keep receiving requests for consultations every year from many patients with corneal damage related to these contact lenses, especially during Halloween. As an ophthalmologist, I have a responsibility to help educate the population on this issue in order to minimise the potentially serious effects on vision,” said Dr. Sandra Fiorentini.

Share this page:

Posted in Blog
Request an appointment

X
Request Appointment