هل كل عمليات الليزك متماثلة؟ أي عملية هي الأفضل؟

مدونة هذا الأسبوع عن هل كل عمليات الليزك متماثلة؟ أي عملية هي الأفضل؟ من د. أسامة الجليدي، استشاري طب وجراحة العيون، أخصائي جراحة إعتام عدسة العين والقرنية وتصحيح البصر.

إذا كنت تفكّر بإجراء عملية جراحية لتصحيح البصر بالليزر وتقرأ عن الأمر، فربما تكون قد واجهتك العديد من الأسماء المختلفة لهذه العمليات. قد يقول البعض بأن فهمها ومقارنتها ببعضها البعض يعدّ مربكاً جداً، خاصة وأن هناك أنواعاً وأسعاراً مختلفة مقدّمة لهذه العمليات.

هناك نوعان رئيسيان من عمليات الليزر الانكسارية وهما الليزك والليزر السطحي.

عملية الليزك هي عملية يتم فيها إجراء ما يسمّى بالشريحة، وهي طبقة رقيقة من القرنية (التي توجد في الجزء الأمامي من العين). يتم بعد ذلك رفع الشريحة للسماح بتطبيق طاقة ليزر إكسيمر تحتها. ثم يقوم الليزر بإعادة تشكيل القرنية من أجل تصحيح البصر. بعد اكتمال العلاج بالليزر، يتم إعادة الشريحة الواقية مرة أخرى إلى مكانها الأصلي حتى تلتئم.

خلال عملية الليزك التقليدية، يتم استخدام أداة ميكانيكية تسمى ميكروكيراتوم وتحتوي على شفرة مشرط متحركة لإجراء شريحة رقيقة في القرنية. قد تُسبب عملية الليزك التقليدية حدوث مضاعفات مثل انشقاق الشريحة أو تحرّرها والتي يمكن للأسف أن تتسبب في بعض الحالات في حدوث ضعف دائم في البصر. كما تُعرف هذه العملية أيضاً باسم ألترا ليزك Ultra LASIK أو سوبرا ليزك SupraLASIK أو ثين ليزك Thin LASIK.
كما أن هناك طريقة بديلة جديدة لإجراء شريحة الليزك وذلك من خلال استخدام ليزر الفيمتوثانية، والذي يُعرف أيضاً باسم إنتراليز IntraLase أو الليزك بدون شفرة مشرط أو الليزك الليزري بالكامل. وتمثل هذه العملية تقنية ليزرية مبتكرة ومتطورة جداً وتستخدم في تحضير القرنية من أجل العمليات الجراحية لتصحيح البصر بالليزر. وهذا يسمح بالمزيد من الأمان أثناء عملية الليزر. إذ أن استخدام تقنية الليزر لإجراء شريحة القرنية (والتي تعتبر الخطوة الأهم في عملية الليزك) أدى إلى جعل العملية فعالة ودقيقة جداً وإلى إلغاء المخاطر الخطيرة لإجراء الشريحة، ويمكن القول بأنها أكثر تقنيات الليزك أماناً. ويسمح ليزك الفيمتوثانية للطبيب الجرّاح باختيار المركز الدقيق للشريحة وبالإعداد الدقيق للقطر والثخانة وتصميم حافة الشريحة، مما يحسن من جودة ودقة العملية.

ونتيجة لذلك، فإن هذا يقلل من خطر مضاعفات الإجراء الجراحي للشريحة إلى الصفر تقريباً، كما يقلل أيضاً من خطر حدوث تجاعيد في الشريحة وضعف القرنية بعد الجراحة، ومن خطر جفاف العين بعد العملية.

وقد تمت الموافقة على الليزك من قبل إدارة الأغذية والأدوية الأميركية في عام 1995. كما ظهر أول نظام معتمد من إدارة الأغذية والأدوية لإجراء الشرائح بدون شفرة في الولايات المتحدة في عام 2007، لذلك فإن العملية ليست جديدة، ولكن مع تقدّم هذه التقنية على مر السنين، فقد أصبحت الآن دقيقة جداً وأكثر أماناً وسهلة الإجراء ويمكن التنبؤ بنتائجها.

في النهاية، ليست جميع عمليات الليزك متماثلة. وإذا كنت تفكر بإجراء عملية ليزك، فاسأل الطبيب الجرّاح عما إذا كان سيقوم بإجراء الشريحة بالمشرط أو بليزر الفيمتوثانية. إذا كانت التكلفة تهمّك كثيراً، فقد تكون العملية بالمشرط هي إحدى الخيارات، ولكن يجب عليك أيضاً مراعاة الأمان واحتمال زيادة نسبة المضاعفات والمخاطر المرتبطة بذلك. باستخدام تقنية ليزر الفيمتوثانية، فإن مخاطر المضاعفات والنتائج تكون مضمونة لصالحك بشكل أفضل، وتذكر أيضاً بأن بعض المراكز تقدّم خيارات مختلفة للعمليات والتكاليف.

يعود الخيار لك وحدك، وما عليك إلا أن تتأكد من أن تسأل الطبيب الجرّاح والمركز الذي تخطّط لإجراء العلاج فيه ما يكفي من الأسئلة، وخاصة فيما يتعلق بكيفية إجراء شريحة الليزك لكي تتمكن من اتخاذ قرار سليم بناء على ما تعرفه من معلومات.

شارك هذه الصفحة:

داخل مدونة
إطلب موعد

X
إطلب موعد

Are all LASIK procedures the same? Which one is the best?

This week’s blog on Are all LASIK procedures the same? Which one is the best? has been contributed by Dr Osama Giledi, Consultant Ophthalmologist, Specialist in Cataract, Cornea and Refractive Vision Correction Surgery

If you have been thinking about laser vision correction surgery and reading up on it, you may have come across many different procedure names. Some may say that it is very confusing to understand and compare them to one another, especially as there are different packages and prices offered for such procedures.

The two main types of refractive laser procedures are the LASIK procedure and the surface laser procedure.
The LASIK procedure is one in which the thin layer of the cornea (located in the front part of the eye) is created, called a flap. The flap is then lifted to allow for the application of excimer laser energy beneath it. The laser then reshapes the cornea for vision correction outcomes. After the laser treatment is completed, the protective flap is replaced back to its original place in order for it to heal.

With traditional LASIK, a mechanical instrument called a Microkeratome uses a moving blade to create a thin corneal flap. Traditional LASIK may cause complications such as torn flaps and free flaps which in some cases can unfortunately cause permanent reduced vision. It is also known as Ultra LASIK, SupraLASIK or Thin LASIK.

An alternate new method of creating a LASIK flap is through the use of a femtosecond laser, also known as “IntraLase,” “blade-free” or “all-laser LASIK.” This technology represents an innovative and highly sophisticated laser technique used to prepare the cornea for laser vision correction surgery. This allows extra safety for the laser procedure. Using laser technology to create the corneal flap, which is most important step in LASIK procedure, has made the procedure much precise, effective, eliminates serious flap creation risks and is arguably the safest LASIK technique to undergo. Femtosecond lasik allows the surgeon to choose a excellent centration of the flap, create precise diameter and thickness and edge design of the flap, so it improves both the quality and the accuracy of the procedure.

A result, this reduces the risk of surgical flap formation complication to almost risk free, also reducing the risk of post-surgery flap wrinkles and weaker cornea, and also reduces the risk of dry eye after the procedure.

LASIK was originally approved by the FDA in 1995. The first FDA-approved bladeless flap-making system in the United States was in 2007, so it is not a new procedure, but as technology has advanced over the years, it is now extremely precise, safer and easy to perform with predictable outcomes.

In conclusion, not all LASIK procedures are equal; if you are considering LASIK, ask your surgeon whether they will perform the blade or Femto laser LASIK flap. If price is a major concern for you, the blade procedure may provide an option, however you should also consider the safety and raised potential complication rates and risks associated with this. Using the femto laser flap technique, your risk of complications and outcomes are much better guaranteed to be in your favor and also remember that some facilities offer different packages and financing options.

The choice is yours, just make sure to ask your surgeon, and the facility you are seeking treatment from, enough questions, especially how the Lasik flap is created in order for you to make an informed decision.

Share this page:

Posted in Blog
Request an appointment

X
Request Appointment