جراحة تصحيح عيوب النظر الانكسارية

مدونة هذا الأسبوع عن جراحة تصحيح عيوب البصر الإنكسارية من الدكتور حامد مفيز أنور، استشاري طب العيون، أخصائي جراحة القرنية و تصحيح البصر.

إذا كنت تعاني من قصر النظر أو طول النظر أو اللانقطية أو ضعف البصر الشيخوخي، فإن جراحات تصحيح عيوب النظرالانكسارية تساعد في تحسين الرؤية.

ما هي فوائد جراحة تصحيح عيوب النظر الانكسارية ؟

لمعظم المرضى، فإن الرؤية بعد عملية الانكسار تكون مشابهة للرؤيتهم بالعدسات اللاصقة ما قبل العملية، لكن لا تتسبب لهم بأي إزعاج أو تحد من أدائهم لبعض النشاطات.
أكثر من 95% من المرضى راضون عن نتائج العملية، حيث أن العديد منهم يصفونها بأنها قد غيرت حياتهم. على الرغم من أن العملية تعتبر جراحة تجميلية، إلا أن الفوائد الرئيسية تعتبر فوائد وظيفية. هذه العملية مصممة لتجعلك أقل اعتماداً على النظارات الطبية والعدسات اللاصقة ، مما يجعل ممارسة النشاطات اليومية أسهل.

هل أنت مؤهل لجراحات تصحيح عيوب النظر الانكسارية؟

إن جراحات انكسار النظر تعتبر حلاً جيداً إذا كنت:

  • ترغب بتقليل الإعتماد على النظارات أو العدسات اللاصقة.
  • لا تعاني من أية أمراض عيون.
  • إذا كنت مطّلعاً على المخاطر والـتأثيرات الجانبية المحتملة للجراحة ومتقبلاً لها.
  • تتفهم أنه من الممكن الحاجة للنظارات أو العدسات اللاصقة بعد العملية للحصول على أفضل رؤية.
  • تعاني من عيب انكساري في النظر.

ما هي أنواع جراحات انكسار النظر المتوفرة؟

من الضروري العلم بأنه لا يوجد طريقة واحدة مثالية لتصحيح جميع عيوب النظر الانكسارية.

حيث أن أفضل طريقة جراحية لحالة عيونك سيقررها طبيب العيون الخاص بك بعد إجرائه لفحوصات شاملة لنظرك، مع الأخذ بعين الإعتبار لنمط حياتك و احتياجات نظرك .

إن قدرة العيون على التركيز يمكن أن تُصَّحح من خلال عمليات تشمل:

  • تصحيح النظر بالليزر – هذه العمليات تُعَّدِّل قوة تركيز العين من خلال إعادة تشكيل القرنية (الطبقة الشفافة في مقدمة العين).
  • زرع عدسة داخل العين.

عمليات الانكسار باستخدام الليزر:

إن عمليات تصحيح النظر بالليزر تستخدم ليزر إكسيمر (Excimer laser) لإعادة تشكيل القرنية ، مما يؤدي لتصحيح العيوب الانكسارية. بشكل عام، تُسطّح القرنية لعلاج قصر النظر أو تُقعّر لتصحيح طول النظر.

إن عمليات الانكسار باستخدام الليزر تشمل:

  • الليزك
  • العلاج السطحي بالليزر (PRKTrans-PRKLASEK)

إن مخاطر وفوائد العمليتين متشابهة، وبشكل عام تقدمان نتائج جيدة للمرضى.

إن الفرق الأساسي بين العمليتين هو سرعة التعافي. من يخضع لعملية الليزك غالباً ما يعود للحياة اليومية خلال يوم واحد بعد العملية، ولكن المرضى الذي يخضعون لعملية PRK يحتاجون لما يقارب الأسبوع للوصول إلى رؤية تساعد على قيادة السيارة.

مع العلم أن نتائج العملية على العيون (النظر) تكون نفسها لجميع أنواع العمليات بعد 3 شهور.

الليزك

في عملية الليزك يرفع جزء صغير من سطح القرنية باستخدام ليزر “فيمتوسكند”. هذا الجزء يرفع قليلاً للأعلى، ثم يتم استخدام ليزر “إكسيمر” على سطح القرنية. عند انتهاء العملية يتم وضع الفتحة في مكانها الأصلي. بعد العملية، يشعر المريض بالقليل من عدم الراحة ولكن الرؤية ستتعافى بشكل سريع عند معظم المرضى، وتكون الرؤية جيدة لمعاودة العمل وقيادة السيارة بعد ما يقارب اليوم. ولكن يجب التنويه إلى أن المرضى الذين يمارسون بعض أنواع الرياضات يجب عليهم الانتظار لمدة شهر لمعاودة التدريب.

هذا الفيديو http://fyi.rendia.com/XZN8k يبين خطوات جراحة الليزر.

العلاج السطحي بالليزر (PRK/TransPRK/LASEK)

في علاج الليزر PRK، فإن الليزر يستخدم بشكل مباشر على سطح القرنية. يتم ازالة نسيج على شكل عدسة من تحت جلد القرنية. ينمو الجلد مجدداً خلال أسبوع، ثم يترقق خلال 3 شهور. خلال مرحلة نمو الجلد يكون سطح العين متورماً. هذا هو الفارق الأساسي بين العلاج السطحي بالليز و عملية الليزك.

هذه العملية تتطلب تدخل جراحي بسيط وهي مناسبة للمرضى الغير مؤهلين لعملية الليزك بسبب أن القرنية رقيقة أو أن حياتهم فيها نشاطات كثيرة مما يعرضهم للخطر. إن سلبيات هذه العملية تشمل آلام تستمر لمدة يوم وتعافي البصر قد يمتد إلى أسبوع للوصول إلى رؤية تساعد على قيادة السيارة. إن المرضى الذين يمارسون الرياضة يستطيعون العودة لمزاولة حياتهم الطبيعية أسرع من المرضى الذين يخضعون لعملية الليزك.

تصحيح الرؤية بالليزر لضعف النظر عند القراءة (presbyopia)

ضعف النظر عند القراءة المرتبط بالسن (ضعف البصر الشيخوخي) يمكن علاجه عن طريق عملية الليزر. لعلاج مثل هذه الحالة يتم تصحيح النظر في أول عين للرؤية عن بعد و تصحيح النظر بالعين الأخرى للرؤية عن قرب. هذا النوع من العلاج يطلق عليه “monovision”. عندما تكون كلا العينين مفتوحتان، فإن الدماغ يدمج الصورتين ليعيد الرؤية جزئياً . هذه هي الاستراتيجية لتحسين القصر في النظر للمرضى المتقدمين في السن.

جراحة زرع العدسة

إن عمليات الليزر لتصحيح عيوب البصر غير مناسبة لجميع المرضى. لأن بعض الناس يعانون من عيوب انكسارية عالية و من غير الممكن أن تُصَحح بعملية ليزر، لأنها تعتبر غير آمنة. و بعض الناس (غالباً فوق 50 سنة) قد يكون ليهم تغيرات مبكرة في المياه البيضاء (الكتاراكت) في عدسة العين.

المرضى صغار السن

عند المرضى صغار السن، يتم زراعة عدسة داخل العين أمام العدسة الطبيعية. هذه العدسة إما أن تُوضع أمام أو خلف قزحية العين. عند زرع العدسة في العين، فإنها توفر التصحيح اللازم لتركيز الضوء على شبكية العين. من المهم أيضاً التنويه إلى أن عدسة العين الطبيعية تبقى في مكانها ولا تستبدل خلال العملية.

المرضى البالغين

يمكن ملاحظة المراحل الأولى لإعتام عدسة العين في المرضى البالغين، ومن الممكن أن تكون جراحة تبديل العدسة مناسبة للبالغين أكثر. في هذه العملية تستبدل العدسة الطبيعية بعدسة أخرى. أنواع محتلفة من العدسات تزرع في العين، وتشمل عدسات متعددة البؤر مصممة لتقليل الإعتماد على النظارات الطبية للرؤية عن قرب و بعد.

هل تعتبر نتائج عملية الليزر دائمة؟

في معظم الحالات، نعم. قصر النظر و اللانقطية غالباً ما تتوازن في آخر سنوات المراهقة وبداية العشرينيات، ولكن ربما تحدث تغيرات في قوة النظر في هذه المرحلة من الحياة. لذلك، ربما يتطلب الأمر إجراء عمليات ليزر مجدداً.

داخل

Refractive Surgery

This week’s blog on refractive surgery has been contributed by Dr Hamed Mofeez Anwar, Consultant Corneal and Refractive Surgeon.

If you’re nearsighted, farsighted, have astigmatism or are presbyopic (loss of reading ability due to age), refractive surgery is a term referring to procedures which can be used to improve your vision.

What are the benefits of refractive surgery?

For most patients, the vision after refractive surgery is similar to that with contact lenses prior to surgery, without the potential discomfort and limitations of performing activities.

Over 95% of patients are satisfied with the outcome of the surgery, with many describing it as a “life-changing”. Although refractive surgery is often considered to be a cosmetic surgery procedure, the benefits are primarily functional. It’s designed to make you less dependent on glasses and contact lenses, letting you lead an active lifestyle more easily.

Am I a good candidate for refractive surgery?

Refractive surgery may be a good option for you if you:

  • Want to decrease your dependence on glasses or contact lenses.
  • Are free of eye disease.
  • Accept the inherent risks and potential side effects of the procedure.
  • Understand that you might still need glasses or contacts after the procedure to achieve your best vision.
  • Have an appropriate refractive error

What types of refractive surgery are there?

It’s important to remember that there is no universally-accepted, best method for correcting refractive errors.

The best option for you should be decided after a thorough examination and discussion with your ophthalmologist, especially taking into account your lifestyle and vision needs.

The focusing ability of your eyes can be adjusted by procedures which include:

  • Laser vision correction – these procedures adjust the focusing power of the eye by reshaping the cornea (the clear window at the front of the eye).
  • Implanting a lens inside the eye.

Laser refractive surgery:

Laser vision correction procedures use an excimer laser to reshape the cornea (the clear window at the front of the eye), therefore correcting refractive errors. Generally speaking, the cornea is flattened to treat near-sightedness or steepened to correct far-sightedness.

Laser refractive surgery procedures include:

  • LASIK
  • Surface laser treatment (PRK/Trans-PRK/LASEK)

The risks and benefits are similar amongst the two procedures and they generally provide good results in the appropriate patients.

The main difference among the two procedures is the speed of recovery. LASIK patients are usually able to return to work within a day or so after surgery while patients who have PRK done may need up to a week to attain driving standard vision.

It’s important to keep in mind that the visual results at 3 months are equivalent for all types of surgery.

LASIK

In LASIK, a very thin flap is created on the surface of the cornea using a femtosecond laser. This flap is then lifted up and an excimer laser is then applied to the corneal surface. At the end of the procedure, the flap is then placed back into its original position. After surgery, a minimal amount of discomfort may be experienced. Visual recovery after surgery is rapid, with many patients seeing well enough to work and drive within a day or so. However, it’s important to remember that patients who engage in contact sports must wait a month before resuming activities.

This video http://fyi.rendia.com/XZN8k shows how LASIK eye surgery is performed.

Surface laser treatment (PRK/TransPRK/LASEK)

In PRK laser treatment, a laser is applied directly to the corneal surface. This removes a lens shaped piece of tissue immediately below the clear skin of the cornea. The skin regrows over the course of a week, and then smooths out over the next 3 months. While the skin is growing again, the eye surface is normally very sore. This is the main difference between surface laser treatments and LASIK, both of which aim to keep the corneal skin layer intact.

This procedure requires minimal surgical manipulation and is especially suited to patients that aren’t suitable for LASIK because of a thin cornea or a very active lifestyle that puts them at risk of dislodging a corneal flap. The downsides of this procedure are postoperative pain that lasts a day or so after surgery and a more prolonged visual recovery that would extend to a week to attain driving standard vision. Patients who engage in contact sports can resume activity much sooner than with LASIK.

Laser vision correction for decreased reading vision (presbyopia)

Age related loss of reading vision (presbyopia) can be treated with laser vision correction surgery. To do this, one eye is treated so it sees well for distance, while the other eye is treated to see well for closer objects. This type of treatment is called monovision. When both eyes are open, our brain combines the two images to partially restore near vision with little compromise optically. This is the default strategy for improving the near range in older patients undergoing laser vision correction.

Lens implantation surgery:

Laser vision correction is not suitable for all patients.

Some people have high degrees of refractive errors which can’t be safely corrected with laser-based refractive surgery. Other people (generally above the age of 50) may have early cataractous changes in the lens of their eyes.

Younger patients:

In younger patients, a lens is surgically implanted inside the eye in front of the natural lens. This lens is placed either in front of or behind the iris of the eye. Once the lens is properly positioned inside the eye, it provides the necessary correction to focus light rays onto the retina. It’s important to note that the natural lens of the eye is not removed during this procedure.

Older patients

Early stages of cataract are often seen in older patients, and lens replacement surgery may be more appropriate in this group. In this surgery, the natural lens is replaced with a lens implant. A variety of different implants are used, which include multifocal lenses designed to reduce reliance on spectacles for near, intermediate and distance vision.

Is refractive surgery permanent?

In most cases, yes. Short sight and astigmatism normally stabilise in the late teens or early 20s, however natural changes in your eye power can happen at any stage in life. As a result, laser vision correction sometimes needs to be repeated.

Posted in Blog