اعتام عدسة العين عند الأطفال

مدونة هذا الأسبوع حول اعتام عدسة العين (الكتاراكت) عند الأطفال يقدمها الدكتور سيد أسد علي، استشاري طب عيون الأطفال، أخصائي علاج الحول و إعتام عدسة العين

ما هو اعتام عدسة العين (الكتاراكت)؟

يعرف اعتام عدسة العين (الكتاراكت) بأنه عبارة عن ضبابية أو إعتام في العدسة البلورية الطبيعية للعين. ويسمى أيضا “المياه البيضاء” أو “اللؤلؤ الأبيض” بسبب مظهره الأبيض. ويعدّ اعتام عدسة العين شائعاً جداً عند الناس الذين تتجاوز أعمارهم 50 سنة، ولكن – على عكس الاعتقاد الشائع – يمكن أن يحدث في أي سنّ. وعندما يولد الطفل وهو مصاب بإعتام عدسة العين فإنه يسمى بالاعتام الخلقي أو الولادي ويؤثر على الرؤية من خلال منع كافة الضوء من الوصول إلى الشبكية في الجزء الخلفي من العين.

أسباب إعتام عدسة العين عند اليافعين

يمكن أن يحدث إعتام عدسة العين في عين واحدة (أحادي الجانب) أو في كلتا العينين (ثنائي الجانب). وفي البلدان الغربية، يبلغ معدل الإصابة بإعتام عدسة العين الذي يؤثر على رؤية الطفل حوالي 3-4 حالات من كل 10 آلاف ولادة لطفل، ويعدّ معدل الإصابة أعلى في آسيا.

ويمكن أن يكون إعتام عدسة العين ثنائي الجانب ناجماً عن الطفرات الجينية. إذ تمَّ الآن اكتشاف أكثر من 15 عيباً جينياً. وهناك أيضاً الارتباطات الجهازية مع اضطرابات الاستقلاب الغذائي مثل مرض الجالاكتوز في الدم وداء ويلسون والسكري. وقد لوحظ عند الناس الذين يعانون من تثلث الصبغي 21 (متلازمة داون) كذلك. وإذا أصيبت الأم ببعض أنواع العدوى مثل الحصبة الألمانية أو الهربس أو داء المقوسات أو مرض الزهري، فإن هذا قد يؤدي إلى اعتام عدسة العين عند الولادة.
ويرتبط إعتام عدسة العين أحادي الجانب بأمراض العين الأخرى مثل العين الصغيرة وشذوذات الجزء الأمامي للعين (خلل يتكوّن في الجزء الأمامي) والالتهاب وأمراض الشبكية والخلط الزجاجي.

ويمكن لأي رض كبير (صدمة بشيء حاد) للعين أن يسبب إعتام عدسة العين.
في سن مبكرة جداً، قد يلاحظ الآباء منطقة بيضاء في وسط بؤبؤ العين أو انعكاس غير طبيعي في البؤبؤ. ويصاب بعض الأطفال بالحول بسبب كسل العين الناجم عن اعتام عدسة العين أحادي الجانب. ويتم أحياناً أخذ الأطفال إلى طبيب العيون بعد اكتشاف ضعفهم في فحص العين في المدرسة. وفي حالة اعتام عدسة العين أحادي الجانب، حتى الأطفال الأكبر سناً قد لا يدركون بأنهم يرون بعين واحدة فقط، حيث أنهم قادرون على موازنة الرؤية بشكل جيد.

العلاج

يعتمد علاج اعتام عدسة العين على عدد من العوامل مثل العمر عند التشخيص، ووجوده بشكل أحادي أو ثنائي الجانب، وكون الاعتام خفيفاً أو كثيفاً، ووجود كسل في العين. ويتم إجراء عملية جراحية لاعتام عدسة العين الولادي الكثيف ثنائي الجانب في الأسابيع 6-8 من العمر تقريباً، لأن الجراحة المبكرة يمكن أن تشكل خطراً كبيراً للإصابة بالجلوكوما (المياه الزرقاء) كما أن تأخير الجراحة إلى ما بعد 3 أشهر من العمر يمكن أن يحدّ من تحسن الرؤية، وذلك بسبب تطور كسل العينين. ويكون الإنذار البصري لاعتام عدسة العين الولادي الكثيف ثنائي الجانب سيئاً بسبب التطور المبكر لكسل العين.

ويمكن علاج حالات الاعتام الخفيف ببساطة، ولكن علاج الإعتام الشديد يتطلب إجراء الجراحة وإزالة الساد. وعند الأطفال تحت سن 3-4 سنوات من العمر، فإن إزالة الإعتام تؤدي أيضاً إلى زوال جزء من الهلام الأمامي (الخلط الزجاجي) من العين.
وعادة ما تزرع العدسة داخل المقلة عند الأطفال بعمر السنة فما فوق، ولكن ذلك يمكن إجراؤه في وقت مبكر في الحالات أحادية الجانب. كما أن قوة العدسة التي يتم اختيارها تسمح أيضاً بنمو العين.

وبعد الجراحة، فإن الرعاية مهمة جداً وقد تتضمن قطرات العين العادية لمدة 4-6 أسابيع بعد الجراحة، والارتداء العادي للنظارات والعدسات اللاصقة ورقعة العين (أي تغطية إحدى العينين ذات الرؤية الأفضل) لعدد محدد من الساعات. وهذا يتطلب الكثير من الدعم وتعاون الوالدين.

وفي هذه الحالات، فإن التشخيص المبكر والعلاج الفوري يمكن أن ينقذ الأطفال من ضعف البصر مدى الحياة.

فمن المهم أن يخضع جميع الأطفال لفحوصات العين بانتظام.

داخل

Paediatric Cataract

This week’s blog on Paediatric Cataract has been contributed by Dr Syed M. Asad Ali, Consultant Paediatric Ophthalmologist, Strabismus and Cataract Surgery

What is Cataract?

Cloudiness or opacity in the natural crystalline lens of the eye is called cataract. It is also called ‘white water’ or ‘white pearl’ because of its white appearance. Cataract is very common in people over the age of 50 but – contrary to common belief – it can happen at any age. When a child is born with a Cataract it’s called Congenital Cataract and it affects the vision by preventing all the light reaching the retina at the back of the eye.

Causes of Cataract in the young

Cataract can occur in one eye (unilateral) or both eyes (bilateral). In Western countries, the incidence of Cataract affecting childhood vision is about 3-4 cases in 10,000 live births. The incidence is higher in Asia.

Bilateral Cataracts can be caused by genetic mutations; over 15 gene defects have now been discovered. There are also systemic associations with metabolic disorders such as galactosemia, Wilson disease and diabetes. It has been noticed in people with Trisomy 21 (down syndrome) as well. If a mother acquires an infection such as rubella, herpes, toxoplasmosis or syphilis, this can cause Cataracts at birth.

Unilateral Cataracts are sometimes associated with other eye diseases like small eye, abnormal front of the eye (anterior segment dysgenesis), inflammation, vitreous and retinal diseases.

Any significant trauma (impact with a sharp or blunt object) to the eye can cause Cataract.

Presentation

At a very early age, parents may notice a white area at the centre of the pupil or an abnormal reflection in the pupil. Some children develop squint due to lazy eye caused by Unilateral Cataract. Children are sometimes brought to the ophthalmologist after failing a school eye test. In the case of Unilateral Cataract, even older children may not realise that they are only seeing with one eye, as they are able to manage well.

Treatment

Treatment of Cataracts depends on a number of factors like age at diagnosis, presence of Unilateral or Bilateral, mild or dense cataract and the presence of lazy eye. Dense Bilateral Cataracts at birth are operated on at around 6-8 weeks of age because early surgery can pose a high risk of Glaucoma (blue water) and delaying surgery beyond 3 months of age can limit the vision improvement, due to the development of lazy eyes. Unilateral Dense Cataract at birth has a poor visual prognosis because of the early development of lazy eye.

Mild Cataracts do occur but significant Cataract treatment involves surgery and the removal of the Cataract. In children under 3-4 years of age, Cataract removal also removes the part of front jelly (vitreous) of the eye.

An intraocular lens (IOL) is usually implanted in children above 1 year of age but this can be done earlier in unilateral cases. The power of the IOL selected also allows for the growth of the eye.

After surgery care is very important and may involve regular eye drops for 4-6 weeks after surgery, regular wearing of glasses, contact lenses and patching (covering the one eye with better vision) for the prescribed number of hours. This requires a lot of support and involvement of the parents

In these cases, early diagnosis and prompt treatment can save children from lifelong sight impairment.

It is important for all children to have regular eye check-ups.

Posted in Blog