العدسات متعددة البؤر

مدونة هذا الأسبوع عن العدسات متعددة البؤر من الدكتور حامد مفيز أنور، استشاري طب العيون، أخصائي جراحة القرنية وتصحيح البصر.

إن الهدف من جراحة الكتاراكت (اعتام عدسة العين) الاعتيادية كان ومازال تحسين البصر لضمان حياة طبيعية يستطيع فيها المريض أن يقوم بالنشاطات التي تتطلب رؤية واضحة بما في ذلك الرؤية عن بعد مثل قيادة السيارة ومشاهدة الأفلام. أما بالنسبة للرؤية عن قرب بعد جراحة الكتاراكت ففي معظم الأحيان يجب على المريض ارتداء نظارة للقراءة.

وفي هذه الأيام، فإن الناس المخولين للقيام بجراحة الكتاراكت لديهم خيارات متعددة تشمل عدسات متعددة البؤر والتي توفر للمرضى تصحيح بصر شامل.

إذا كنت تحتاج لجراحة الكتاراكت وترغب في التخلص من النظارات الطبية تماماً فإن العدسات متعددة البؤر هي الخيار الأفضل لك، حيث أن الكثير من الناس الذين زرعوا عدسات متعددة البؤر في عملية الكتاراكت لا يحتاجون للنظارات الطبية، وربما يحتاجونها لقراءة الخط الصغير جداً فقط.

إذا كنت تريد القيام بزراعة عدسة متعددة البؤر، إنه لمن المهم معرفة شروطها و ملائمتها لك.

فإذا كانت طبيعة حياتك المهنية تتطلب رؤية واضحة في جميع الأوقات، بالإضافة إلى رؤية ليليّة ممتازة – مثلاً إذا كنت تعمل ككابتن طائرة أو من تتطلب وظيفته قيادة السيارة خلال الليل بشكل دائم – فإنه من الممكن ألا تكون مخوّل لزراعة العدسات متعددة البؤر ولربما تكون العدسات أحادية البؤرة خياراً أفضل لك للرؤية البعيدة مما يعني أنه من الممكن أن تحتاج ارتداء النظارات عند القراءة.

كما يجب الأخذ بعين الاعتبار أنه إذا كانت لديك مشلكة بصرية أخرى مصاحبة للكتاراكت (مثل اعتلال الشبكية بسبب السكري أو الزرق أو الضمور البقعي المرتبط بتقدم العمر)، فإنه من الأفضل زرع العدسات أحادية البؤرة لأن زراعة العدسات متعددة البؤر في العين تتطلب عدم وجود أية مشاكل أُخرى بالعين.

للحصول على أفضل النتائج من العدسات متعددة البؤر، فإن ضبط موضع العدسات في العين مهم جداً. وعليه يمكن لجراح العيون أن ينصح بخضوع المريض لجراحة الكتاراكت باستخدام ليزر “فيمتوسكند” للتأكد من موقع البؤر والاستفادة قدر الإمكان من العدسات.

داخل

Multifocal Intraocular Lenses

This week’s blog on Multifocal Intraocular Lenses has been contributed by Dr Hamed Mofeez Anwar, Consultant Corneal and Refractive Surgeon.

Traditionally, the aim of cataract surgery has been to give patients the quality of vision to ensure a normal lifestyle including distance vision activities such as driving and watching movies. For clear near vision after cataract surgery, patients would often still require glasses for reading.

These days, candidates for cataract surgery have a wide range of options including multifocal IOLs (Intraocular Lenses) that offer patients total vision correction.

If you need cataract surgery and would like to have more freedom from spectacles after surgery then multifocal intraocular lenses are an excellent option to increase your range of clear vision. In fact, many people who choose multifocal intraocular lenses are generally glasses-free or may only need reading glasses occasionally for reading small print, after cataract surgery.

Who are the best candidates for multifocal IOLs?

If you’re considering having a multifocal IOL implant, it’s important to understand that they also have their limitations.

If you are in a job that needs you to have the best possible distance vision at all times, or excellent night vision – for example if you are a pilot or someone who does a lot of night driving – then you probably are not a good candidate for multifocal IOL implants and regular monofocal (single-focus) lenses would be a better choice and provide very good distance vision. This would mean that you would need reading glasses to see well, up close.

Another thing to keep in mind is that if you have an associated visual condition other than a cataract (such as diabetic retinopathy, glaucoma or age related macular degeneration), you would be more satisfied with the results using regular monofocal IOLs. This is because multifocal IOLs need good visual capability in both eyes for optimal results.

Other considerations

To get the best visual results with multifocal IOLs, the exact placement of the lens in the eye is very important.

So, a cataract surgeon may also recommend a laser cataract surgery procedure using a femtosecond laser to help ensure accurate positioning of the multifocal IOL and get the best possible results from the lens.

Posted in Blog