نهيان بن مبارك يفتتح “مركز مستشفى مورفيلدز للعيون”

المستشفى يحمل 200 عام من التميّز البريطاني في طب العيون إلى أبوظبي

حضر افتتاحه وزير الدولة البريطاني لشؤون الصحة وسفير المملكة المتحدة لدى الدولة       

أبوظبي، 28 نوفمبر 2015:  افتتح معالي الشيخ نهيان بن مبارك آل نهيان وزير الثقافة والشباب وتنمية المجتمع، مركز مستشفى مورفيلدز للعيون في أبوظبي.  والمركز هو ثمرة التعاون ما بين الشرقية المتحدة للخدمات الطبية، الشركة الخاصة الرائدة في استثمار وتطوير قطاع الرعاية الصحية في أبوظبي، وبين مؤسسة مستشفى مورفيلدز للعيون في لندن، أقدم مركز لممارسة وتدريس وأبحاث طب العيون بخبرة أكثر من 200 عام وأحد أكبرها على مستوى العالم.

وحضر الافتتاح معالي وزير الدولة البريطاني لشؤون الصحة أليستر بيرت، وسعادة السفير البريطاني لدى الدولة فيليب بارهام، وممثلون عن هيئة الصحة – أبوظبي، يرافقهم محمد علي الشرفاء، الرئيس التنفيذي والعضو المنتدب للشرقية المتحدة للخدمات الطبية، وجون بيلي الرئيس التنفيذي لمؤسسة مستشفى مورفيلدز للعيون في لندن، ومجد أبوزنط رئيس العمليات في الشرقية المتحدة للخدمات الطبية، وماريانو جونزاليس العضو المنتدب لمركز مستشفى مورفيلدز للعيون في دبي.

وخلال جولته في المركز، صرح معالي الشيخ نهيان بن مبارك: “لقد قمنا اليوم بافتتاح مستشفى مورفيلدز للعيون في أبوظبي، هذه المستشفى الذي يعد من أقدم المستشفيات في العالم في طب العيون حيث تأسس في لندن قبل مائتي عام.  ويعتبر هذا المستشفى إضافة للخدمات الطبية المتميزة الموجودة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، كما ويعزز مكانتها العالمية كموقع تجاري وسياحي مما يدل على أن مؤسسات عالمية عندها الثقة في النجاح وفي توفير الخدمات الطبية المتميزة في الدولة. وسيقدم هذا المركز أفضل خدمات طب العيون باستخدام أحدث الممارسات الطبية للعيون،  ليس فقط في الإمارات ولكن أيضاً في المنطقة.  ونتمنى لهذا المركز كل التوفيق كما ونبارك للشرقية المتحدة للخدمات الطبية هذا التعاون المثمر فيما بين شركة إماراتية وإحدى أقدم وأفضل المؤسسات الطبية في العالم.

وأضاف معاليه: “وإن هذ التعاون وهذا الافتتاح ما هو إلا إثبات للفرص التي توفرها الدولة باستمرار لدعم الشركات المحلية واستقطاب خيرة المؤسسات العالمية في الطب وغيرها وذلك بفضل القيادة الحكيمة لصاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان، رئيس الدولة، حفظه الله وصاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن زايد آل نهيان، ولي عهد أبوظبي، نائب القائد الأعلى للقوات المسلّحة. وهذه القيادة هي التي وفرت الفرص لأرقى مستويات الخدمات الطبية العالمية للمواطنين والمقيمين على هذه الأرض الطيبة.”

وقال معالي أليستر بيرت، وزير الدولة البريطاني لشؤون الصحة: “يعاني حوالي 300 مليون شخص حول العالم مشاكل في البصر. ومن هنا تأتي أهمية تعزيز التوعية بالصحة البصرية وضرورة اتخاذ مختلف الإجراءات الوقائية والعلاجية لمشاكل البصر، منعاً لتأثيراتها السلبية على الأفراد والاقتصاد والمجتمع. ويسعدني أن أكون هنا اليوم وأشهد تحقق مثل هذا المسعى بالتعاون بين مؤسستين متميزتين من دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة والمملكة المتحدة.”

من جانبه قال سعادة السفير البريطاني لدى الدولة فيليب بارهام: “نحن على ثقة بأن مركز مورفيلدز الجديد سيكون وفياً للاسم العريق الذي يحمله ولسجلّه الحافل الذي حققه طوال عقود في كلٍ من لندن ودبي، فيسهم بمزيد من الارتقاء بمستوى الرعاية الصحية البصرية في أبوظبي. ويشرفني أن أرى هذه الشراكة بين مؤسسة محلية رائدة بقيادة إماراتية متميّزة، ومؤسسة مورفيلدز إحدى أرقى المستشفيات والمراكز الطبية التخصصية في لندن”.

وقد فتح مركز مستشفى مورفيلدز للعيون أبوظبي الذي يقدم جراحات اليوم الواحد (العيادات الخارجية) أبوابه في قرية مارينا، حيث يقدم مجموعة شاملة من الخدمات التخصصية والجراحات الدقيقة التي اعتاد المرضى الاستفادة منها في مركز مورفيلدز للعيون في دبي، أول مقر دولي افتتحه المستشفى عام 2007 خارج المملكة المتحدة.

وصار بإمكان أكثر من 7000 مريض، كانوا مضطرين في السابق للتوجه إلى مركز دبي، الحصول الآن على مجموعة متكاملة من خدمات طب العيون التخصصية التي يقدمها المركز الجديد القريب إليهم في العاصمة أبوظبي، ومن ضمنها العلاجات الجراحية وغير الجراحية للأطفال والكبار، والحالات الصحية البصرية الشائعة والمعقدة، بما في ذلك الحَوَل، والمياه الزرقاء، والشبكية (الطبية والجراحية)، وجراحات تجويف العين والجفون (بما في ذلك الجراحات التجميلية في محيط العين)، والقرنية والانحراف (جراحات تصحيح النظر).

ويقدم الاستشارات والعلاجات فريق متخصص محترف من استشاريي وأطباء العيون، الذين عمل عدد كبير منهم في مستشفى مورفيلدز لندن. كما يعتمد المركز تجهيزات وتقنيات متطورة جداً لتشخيص وعلاج أعقد الحالات في مجال طب العيون.

ويضم مركزا مورفيلدز في الدولة فريقاً متخصصاً من ستة استشاريين مختصين في الحالات الطبية المرتبطة بشبكية العين مثل اعتلال الشبكية السكري، والذي يعد من أكثر المضاعفات الناتجة عن السكري شيوعاً. كما يوفر المستشفى خدمات طبية إضافية داعمة مثل فحص العين وتقييم البصر.

وقال محمد علي الشرفاء، الرئيس التنفيذي والعضو المنتدب للشرقية المتحدة للخدمات الطبية: “نحن سعداء بشراكتنا مع مؤسسة مستشفى مورفيلدز للعيون، الذي يعدّ بحقّ معياراً دولياً للتفوّق في طب العيون، واضعين نصب أعيننا توفير رعاية صحية عالمية المستوى للمجتمع في أبوظبي. وهذه خطوة نوعية أخرى للشرقية المتحدة للخدمات الطبية للمساهمة في تحقيق رؤية قيادة الدولة لتوفير أفضل مرافق ومنشآت الرعاية الصحية لمجتمع الإمارات، ومواصلة الارتقاء بمستويات الخدمة الطبية فيها إلى أعلى المعايير العالمية.”

وفي تعليقه على افتتاح المركز الجديد، قال جون بيلي، الرئيس التنفيذي لمؤسسة مستشفى مورفيلدز للعيون في لندن: “يسرّنا كثيراً أن نرى مركزاً لمورفيلدز في عاصمة دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. فمن أهدافنا الأساسية توفير الرعاية الصحية حيثما كانت الحاجة إليها. واستناداً لخبرة 8 أعوام في دولة الإمارات، نأمل أن يسهّل المركز الجديد العناية الصحية بالمرضى بالاستناد إلى خبراتنا العالمية التي تدعم القطاع الصحي المحلي بأفضل الممارسات العلاجية والتوعوية والبحثية بالتعاون مع الهيئات الرسمية المعنية، وذلك في إطار تعزيز مشهد الرعاية الصحية في الدولة وتقديم أفضل الخدمات الطبية لسكانها.”

داخل أخبار / إعلام الوسوم: , , , , , ,

متّصلة…

اتفاقيتنا مع الشرقية المتحدة للخدمات الطبية
قام مستشفى مورفيلدز للعيون بعقد اتفاقية مع الشرقية المتحدة لل...
اقرأ المزيد
رؤيتنا ومهمتنا
رؤيتنا يسعى مستشفى مورفيلدز أبوظبي للعيون ليكون أفضل مستشفيا...
اقرأ المزيد
عراقتنا
خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية بدأ المستشفى في استقبال الحالات ا...
اقرأ المزيد

Nahyan Bin Mubarak inaugurates Moorfields Eye Hospital Centre in Abu Dhabi

  • The centre brings over 200 years of British excellence in eye care to the UAE capital
  • UK Minister of State for Health and British Ambassador to the UAE attend opening ceremony                                

 Abu Dhabi, 28 November 2015: Moorfields Eye Hospital Centre in Abu Dhabi was officially inaugurated by HE Sheikh Nahyan Bin Mubarak Al Nahyan, Minister of Culture, Youth and Community Development. The occasion was celebrated by United Eastern Medical Services (UEMedical), a leading privately owned healthcare development and investment company in Abu Dhabi, and Moorfields Eye Hospital NHS Foundation Trust in London, the oldest and one of the largest centres for ophthalmic treatment, teaching and research in the world, with over 200 years of experience in ophthalmology, partners in this joint venture.

The opening ceremony was attended by UK Minister of State for Health, Alastair Burt, HMA British Ambassador to the UAE, Philip Parham and representatives of the Health Authority Abu Dhabi, joined by John Pelly, Chief Executive of Moorfields Eye Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, London, Mariano Gonzalez, Managing Director of Moorfields Eye Hospital Dubai, Mohammed Ali Al Shorafa, Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and Managing Director of UEMedical and Majd Abu Zant, Chief Operating Officer (COO) of UEMedical.

During his tour of the centre, HE Sheikh Nahyan Bin Mubarak Al Nahyan, Minister of Culture, Youth and Community Development, said: “We have opened today in Abu Dhabi Moorfields Eye Hospital Centre, one of the oldest Ophthalmology hospitals in the world, founded two hundred years ago in London. This hospital will add great value to the exceptional medical services in the United Arab Emirates, offering unmatchable ophthalmological medical services with innovative medical techniques. It will promote the country as a global commercial and tourism destination and demonstrate the confidence that international institutions have in investing in the UAE. We wish the centre success and applaud UEMedical for this fruitful cooperation between a UAE based company and one of the oldest and the best medical institutions in the world.”

He added, “This cooperation between local and international organisations was made possible due to our wise leaders, HH Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan, President of the UAE, and HH Sheikh Mohamed Bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Deputy Supreme Commander of the UAE Armed Forces. These leaders have provided opportunities for world-class medical services to become available to both UAE nationals and residents of our beloved country.”

“Almost 300 million people around the world have some kind of visual impairment. Countries must promote eye health and raise awareness of the importance of prevention and control of so many ophthalmic disorders which, unfortunately, have significant human and socioeconomic consequences to society. I am happy to be here today and witness such an effort made by the UAE and the UK to do just that”, said Alastair Burt, UK Minister of State for Health.

Adding to the significance of the Moorfields Eye Hospital Centre in Abu Dhabi, the British Ambassador commented: “I know that Moorfields will live up to its name and long track record of ophthalmic excellence in London and Dubai, and will improve and strengthen the quality of eye care services in Abu Dhabi.  I am truly honoured to see this happening through a partnership established between a local company, led by an inspirational Emirati, and one of London’s finest institutions – Moorfields”.

Moorfields Eye Hospital Centre Abu Dhabi, located in Marina Village, will offer the same comprehensive range of specialist ophthalmology services and surgical procedures available at Moorfields Eye Hospital Dubai, the first overseas branch to open its doors back in 2007.

Over 7,000 individuals who previously had to commute to Moorfields Eye Hospital Dubai for ophthalmic care will now be able to find surgical and non-surgical treatments for common and complex eye conditions in children and adults, including strabismus (squint), glaucoma, retina (medical and surgical), oculoplastic (including cosmetic surgery around the eye), corneal and refractive (vision corrective surgery), right here in the UAE capital, on a day care basis.

All consultations and treatments will be performed by highly experienced and qualified consultant ophthalmologists, many of whom trained and practiced at Moorfields in London. Moorfields Eye Hospital Centre will offer the most advanced equipment and technology for the diagnosis and treatment of the most complex eye conditions, enabling them to map, assess, manage progression and treat all eye disorders.

Moorfields Eye Hospitals in the UAE are currently the largest eye specialty hospitals in the country with a team of 15 consultant ophthalmologists, including six retinal consultant ophthalmologists focusing on medical retinal diseases such as diabetic retinopathy, one of the most common complications caused by diabetes. The services covered at the hospital are also supported by optometry and orthoptic assessments.

“It is an honour to partner with Moorfields Eye Hospital, a true centre of excellence in ophthalmology, to bring world-class eye care to the Abu Dhabi community. This is yet another important step UEMS takes in line with the UAE leaders’ vision to provide the people of the UAE with the best healthcare facilities, raising the bar of medical services in the country to international standards”, said Mohammed Ali Al Shorafa, CEO and Managing Director of United Eastern Medical Services.

Commenting on the opening of the new centre, John Pelly, CEO of Moorfields Eye Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, added: “We are very pleased to see that Moorfields now has a home in the UAE capital. One of our aims is to provide care where patients need it the most, and based on our eight years of experience in the UAE so far; we hope that this new centre will be more accessible to these patients, and that our world renowned expertise will allow us to make significant contribution to the local medical field, in treatment, education and research, working with local authorities, and further supporting the development of healthcare in the UAE, to help better serve the local population needs”.

Posted in Press Releases Tagged with: , , , , , ,

Related…

Our Partnership with United Eastern Medical Services (UEMedical)
Moorfields Eye Hospital has formed a partnership with United Eastern Medical Services (UEMedical) in Abu Dhabi to...
Read More
Vision, Mission & Values
Vision Moorfields Eye Hospital Abu Dhabi aims to be the finest eye hospital in the Middle East by treating every ...
Read More
Our 200 Years Heritage
At the beginning of the 19th century, ophthalmology was an unknown science. That all changed in the early 1800s a...
Read More